Free tools

Arizona Medicaid (AHCCCS) MNT coverage: codes and who can bill

The short answerAHCCCS's fee-for-service manual (04/29/2026) says nutritionists can bill 97802-97804, G0270 and G0271. Nutritional evaluation is covered for hospice, dietary services when necessary, TPN and transplant. MNT is listed as a real-time telehealth service.

1 row: Medicaid (by state) · Arizona. Public policy, not the member's benefits.

Arizona Medicaid (AHCCCS)

Medicaid (AHCCCS Fee-For-Service Provider Billing Manual) · Arizona

97802Listed [1]
97803Listed [1]
G0270Listed [1]
G0271Listed [1]
Where it appliesNutritional evaluations are covered for hospice services, dietary services (nutritional evaluation and dietary counseling) when necessary, total parenteral nutrition, and transplant services (see AMPM Chapter 310). [1]
DiagnosesNot published: call the payer.
Other codes97804 (group), B4034-B9999 (enteral and parenteral supplies) and S9470 (nutritional counseling, dietitian visit) are in the same list. [1]
Telehealth POSNot published: call the payer.
Telehealth modifierNot published: call the payer.
Telehealth rulesMedical Nutrition Therapy is on the list of services that can be covered via real-time telehealth. There are no geographic restrictions for telehealth. The manual does not state a telehealth POS or modifier for MNT. [1]
Visit limitsNot published: call the payer.
Referral and prior authNot published: call the payer.
Who can billThe manual's Nutritionist Services section says nutritionists can bill these codes. It does not state the licensure or credential requirements for nutritionists. [1]
Managed care plansThis is the fee-for-service manual. Members in AHCCCS health plans follow each plan's rules, which we did not review. [1]
  1. AHCCCS: Fee-For-Service Provider Billing Manual, Chapter 10 Individual Practitioner Services (04/29/2026), checked October 30, 2026

Check a Medicaid claim against the row

Before an Arizona Medicaid (AHCCCS) claim goes out, compare it with the row above: the code is one the policy lists, the place of service and modifier match for a video visit, and the units fit the limit. Change the filters to compare Medicaid with another payer, then download the PDF of what you see.

Sources

  1. AHCCCS: Fee-For-Service Provider Billing Manual, Chapter 10 Individual Practitioner Services (04/29/2026)

Sources checked . Payer rules change; verify the member's benefits.

Frequently asked questions

Does Arizona Medicaid (AHCCCS) cover 97802 and 97803 for a dietitian?

Yes, its public policy lists both. 97802, 97803, G0270 and G0271 are listed. The member's plan still decides coverage, visits and cost sharing, so verify benefits before the first visit.

Part of Free tools & cheat sheets.